OTR, Over The Rhine (“It’s Happening”)

OTR, Over The Rhine (“It’s” Happening)

otr

Recently, I mentioned in a blog post about how both Cincinnatians and Kentuckians are reluctant to cross the river (Click here to read the previous post). I’m from Northern Kentucky (NKY) and I’ve noticed that many of my friends, family and co-workers find it inconvenient to cross the river into Ohio. When I first looked for my first home, I immediately looked for a home for sale in Cincinnati. I use to work downtown and loved the atmosphere. There were only a handful of people who thought it was a good idea. The majority of the people I interacted with on a daily basis were skeptical. They didn’t understand why I would want to live in Cincinnati. I wanted to cover my bases, so I also looked for a home for sale in Kentucky. I found all of the people who were previously pro Cincinnati were against Kentucky. I was feeling stressed about the decision, because I felt like both areas definitely had potential and could be the right fit for me.

I found the only reason why most Kentuckians don’t cross the river is because of the misconception that Cincinnati is still unsafe. In 2009 Over the Rhine, better known as OTR, was elected the most dangerous city in America. Central Parkway and Liberty Street were deemed the rougher sections of OTR, the article even went as far as saying,  “There is a 1 in 4 chance in becoming a crime victim in that area in one year’s time” (To read the entire article click here).  While there is a need of caution in every city, OTR has come out of its shell and is a better brighter neighborhood only four years ago. Now, OTR is nowhere to be found on the most dangerous neighborhood list. In fact, it’s kind of the “happening” place to live nowadays (To read more click here).

While I did end up staying in NKY, I am approximately 3 minutes from Cincinnati. I can hear the Reds fireworks from my house and it only takes 15 minutes for me to stop by Coffee Emporium and order my much needed coffee. I try to urge everyone I know to make trips across the river. Whether they’re from Ohio or Kentucky. I feel like I can call both OTR and NKY my home.

Written by Julie Hammond.

3 thoughts on “OTR, Over The Rhine (“It’s Happening”)

  1. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content in your case?

    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write in relation
    to here. Again, awesome web log!

    1. Dorine,

      We are so flattered! We haven’t done guest writing just yet, but we would love to check out your blog if you have one. We would love to hear your ideas. You can email jhammond at huff.com if you’d like to get in touch with us about guest writing. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

