Great American in the Queen City

cincy

I have lived in the Northern Kentucky area all of my life. For me, Cincinnati was a mystery until I started driving. Despite being only being a few miles away, most Northern Kentuckians are fearful of “crossing the bridge”. Why? I think it’s because we assume that since it’s downtown, it’s dangerous. While not entirely true or untrue, the issue is still there. I often think of the movie “Adventures in Babysitting”, when the suburban kids travel to the city for the first time. The adventure of going from suburban to city life is both exciting and a little scary. I don’t know if that’s how it is for everyone, but that’s how I used to feel.

Over the last decade or so, Cincinnati and its buildings have changed. Instead of seeing the beautiful, but rather static  skyline, buildings have been popping up over the past few years. While there are many I could name, I will only name one. The Great American Tower in Queen City Square is a new fixture to the Cincinnati skyline. Initially there was a debate about the tower, but building started in 2008 and the tower was accessible in 2011. Gyo Obata, the building designer had the inspiration for the top tier of the office building after looking at a picture of Princess Diana’s tiara. Since Cincinnati is nicknamed the “Queen City”, he thought it would be the perfect fit.

The photo above is a comparison of Cincinnati from the 1950’s (Thank you to Cincinnati Museum Center’s Facebook picture) to present day. The skyline has changed so much! I like the idea of Cincinnati becoming as populated or as dazzling as other big cities. I’m excited that Cincinnati has opened up, and continues to grow. This is Julie Hammond, and this is my story.

Want to read more? 

Check out this article from 2011 from Cincinnati.com.

Learn more of the Great American Tower’s Infostructure.

3 thoughts on “Great American in the Queen City

Leave a Reply

